The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

71akyIAUObL._SL1500_

Published: 2nd January 2014

Publisher: Penguin

Pages: 350

Blurb

Love isn’t an exact science – but no one told Don Tillman.  A handsome thirty-nine-year-old geneticist, Don’s never had a second date. So he devises The Wife Project, a scientific test to find the perfect partner. Enter Rosie – ‘the world’s most incompatible woman’ – throwing Don’s safe, ordered life into chaos. Just what is this unsettling, alien emotion he’s feeling?

Review

I will admit that at first, I found it hard to follow the sporadic thoughts of Don. I didn’t think this book would be for me and was close to giving up on it. Perhaps I was being too hasty, I was only about 20 pages in. Thank god that I didn’t give up.

I fell in love with this book and its’ characters. You can’t help but love Don, his quirkiness is endearing and his attempts at normal social interaction are just hilarious. The individual personalities of the characters are what truly makes this book, each character having their own unique traits and characteristics combines to create a wonderful dynamic and feel throughout the book.

Not to be underestimated is the level of research that Simsion must have done to create this book. The effort to make sure that all the scientific detailing was correct must have been very time consuming but definitely worth it in the end. The science part itself has its’ own life within the book.

It is impossible to read this book and not root for Don, wanting so very much for him to succeed in his search for the ‘perfect’ partner. But can anyone really be perfect? That is something you learn along with Don on his somewhat ‘quest’. Though I expected the end result, who he ends up with, the journey through which it occurs was unexpected. I am a person who can usually guess the ending of books, I pride myself on my detective skills  but this one certainly surprised me.

The witty repartee, unique dynamic and overall flow work in unison to create one hell of a book that will endear itself to any reader. A definite must read for sure.

This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

